I Love Finding Hidden Gems!

I was working through Guy Lacour’s 28 Etudes on Modes for Saxophone this evening (and I’ll head back to them after I write this post) and stumbled upon a great line. This book is great to build technique and work on ear training – it has forced me to play outside of my comfort zone interval-wise and that has given my ears a workout as well.

I was playing through etude #4 (Messiaen mode II, 2nd transposition) when I got stuck on a line through the palm keys. I slowed it down and got it under my fingers, but I also discovered a new piece of language that I want to add to my playing.

In the attached .PDF, I have written out the original line, and then rhythmically altered it to fit into one bar.

The first lick in the “Jazz Variations” works over –

C7 – D7 – Eb-7b5 – Emaj7#5 – F7b9 – F#dim7 – Gmaj7#5 – Ab7b9 – Adim7 – B7b9

And I have transposed it into the rest of the keys for practice purposes.

Check it out and keep your eyes open for “gems” in your own practice material!

Guy Lacour Lick

Leave a Reply

