Jazz Recordings That Have Made An Impact On Me

I feel incredibly fortunate – I grew up in a house where jazz was playing on the stereo all of the time. Recently, I’ve been listening to many of the recordings that influenced me as a young player.

These recordings have influenced my tune choice, my style and many other aspects of my playing.

Over the next little while, I’m going to work my way through these recordings and share my thoughts, the impact that they had on me as a younger player and what I see in those recordings now.

Here are some of the recordings that made an impact on me –

  • Zoot Sims and The Gershwin Brothers – Zoot Sims
  • Coleman Hawkins Encounters Ben Webster – Coleman Hawkins
  • Live At The “It” Club – Thelonious Monk
  • Live At The Sands – Frank Sinatra w/ Count Basie
  • Night Train – Oscar Peterson
  • Soul Train – John Coltrane
  • Clifford Brown With Strings – Clifford Brown
  • The Sound Of Sonny – Sonny Rollins
  • Live At Bourbon Street – Paul Desmond
  • The Complete Atomic Mr. Basie – The Count Basie Orchestra
  • Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins – Duke Ellington
  • For Lady Day, Volume One – Carmen McRae
  • Soul Station – Hank Mobley
  • Sonny Stitt Sits In With The Oscar Peterson Trio – Sonny Stitt
  • Art + Eleven – Art Pepper
  • ’63 Summer Tour – Woody Herman
  • Live At The Olympia Paris 1960 – Gerry Mulligan Concert Jazz Band

Of course, there were many other recordings that I listened to, but these were constantly playing in my bedroom and on my Walkman.

Leave a Reply

