Louis Armstrong – The Lick

We all know “the lick” – if not, here’s the video.

As I was sitting in the living room, writing an email, I heard  “the lick” on a Louis Armstrong recording. I’m not sure what recording it came off of, but I think it was a track with Ella (I became so consumed with the fact that I heard him play the lick, that I forgot to check which track it was). I grabbed my flute and lifted it immediately.

Anyways – here’s my short transcription of the lick, with Louis Armstrong’s phrasing.Louis Armstrong - The Lick

 

Leave a Reply

