deQuelery Spiro Ligature

This post is a few weeks overdue, but I’m excited to announce that I am now an endorser of Jurjen de Quelerij‘s Spiro Ligature.

I have been playing the ligature on my tenor and baritone saxophones and Spiro ligatures for my soprano and alto saxophones, and clarinet are on the way.

12224173_1648333595404709_683607285_n

 

Here are my first impressions on the tenor lig (an exerpt from an email to Jurjen) –

I tried the tenor lig first. It fits my mouthpiece perfectly. The biggest change for me is in the way the mouthpiece-lig-reed combination feels (so resonant!). The sax feels incredibly even, and I had to put a harder reed on to get the same resistance that I was used to. I played a gig on Monday night, and I was so happy with the way the horn responded. In particular, the transition to the altissimo register felt seamless. 

Check out Jurjen’s website for more information on the Spiro ligature, Pearwood mouthpieces, and some very cool, new saxophones.

I post pictures and comments on my Twitter and Facebook pages every few days, so check me out there to see these ligs in action!

 

Leave a Reply

